“Choreography by Jack Cole” on TCM September 10 5

On Monday, September 10, 2012 Turner Classic Movies will dedicate an evening to the brilliant creativity of Jack Cole. The evening features four films choreographed by Cole  — he himself dances in two of them. I co-host the September broadcast with TCM’s Robert Osborne.

Films on the slate:

  • Tonight & Every Night (1945)8 pm ET, 5 pm PT
    Full of dance; full of Rita Hayworth. Features the great Marc Platt and Cole himself dances. He jitterbugs!
  • On the Riviera (1951) - 10 pm ET, 7 pm PT
    Wonderful dance numbers, Gwen Verdon sparkles, and “Happy Ending” is a masterpiece.
  • Gentlemen Prefer Blondes (1952) - 11:45 pm ET, 8:45 pm PT
    Jack Cole catapults Marilyn Monroe into the stratosphere with “Diamonds Are A Girl’s Best Friend” — and Jane Russell’s no slouch either.
  • Les Girls (1957) - 1:30 am ET, 10: 30 pm PT
    Cole contributes dance sequences of Cukor-esque sophistication — and he choreographs for Gene Kelly.

Cole is #1 with a bullet around arts·meme. We call him Balanchine Junior.

It will be a joy to co-host with Robert Osborne. I interviewed Robert last December as a journalist bobbling in the Caribbean on TCM Cruise.

For four years I have researched Jack Cole and written about him. I have thought deeply about this foremost American dance artist. He changed my life as a dance critic and now I get to honor him. I’m thrilled!

I just returned to Los Angeles from Atlanta where I taped the program. The footage is in the can now awaiting editing and broadcast!

Please stay tuned for further announcements  … and don’t touch that dial!


Like this? Read more:

5 thoughts on ““Choreography by Jack Cole” on TCM September 10

  1. Pingback: MovieMorlocks.com – Moira in Wonderland

  2. Albert Reid Sep 11, 2012 6:06 pm

    I thought you did admirably, Debra. We managed to see parts of the first three films, the production
    numbers mostly. It was nice to see Gwen Verdon back in the day, as well as Beatrice Kraft in the Danny
    Kaye India sequence. Bill, when he was still in high school, ushered for ‘Kismet’ pre-Broadway at the
    old Philharmonic on Pershing Square in L.A., with Alfred Drake et al, and Beatrice Kraft doing her thing a la
    Cole. Steve Reeves was in it too.

  3. jane goldberg Sep 10, 2012 7:29 pm

    I AGREE WITH LIZA GENNARO. SHE’S MODEST IN NOT MENTIONING HER FATHER PETER GENNARO, ONE OF THE GREAT JAZZ DANCERS OF ALL TIME

    JANE GOLDBERG

  4. David Ehrenstein Jun 2, 2012 4:21 pm

    Cole was a mad genius. I trust you’ll deal with the fact that Bob Fosse began his career as a Jack Cole dancer before inventing a style all his own. Cole’s stylistic signature is all for the place. Especially as regards Marilyn Monroe. One of my favorite Cole numbers is here –

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sy0ShN89lc4

Leave a Reply

  

  

  


*